My Writing This Semester

Through this class, I have learned that

  • The silly writing that I do on the Internet has real-world demand and application.  (If done well.)
  • There’s really no topic that’s off-limits.  (Previously I would have ideas and then be like “No.  Nobody writes about that.”)
  • Getting published is hard, but not some far-off dream so remote that it’s more plausible and practical to plan a trip to Mars.
  • Heavy sadness and anger can be molded and polished into eloquent, humorous, well-thought-out rants on the page.
  • Some people do give a shit about what I have to say.
  • I do not have to be afraid.

Knowing these things does not necessarily make writing easier, but it does make it a much bigger adventure.

Leave a Reply

